aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Happy New Year!

 

Every year for the past 16 years of my life, I have sat in my living room, sipping orange juice, watching the fabulous celebrations in London on TV, all dolled up with nowhere to go, bored stupid. I’d wait on the edge of my seat, willing the countdown to be over, so I could run out into the street and watch the fireworks. All over in a flash, then up to bed to giggle out the window at the drunks stumbling home, merry from the night’s activities. I’d lie back and dream of a time when I would laugh my way back home from the fun and joy of the pubs. One day, I would…

 

Today was that day. Or, more accurately, last night was the night. The night I, Charlotte Penketh-King, ventured to a homely pub to bring in the New Year. A delightful meal, followed by the beloved game of writing celebrity names on paper and sticking it to people’s heads so they ask questions to try and guess who they are. Father was Jimmy Saville, Mother was Ulrika Johnson, my brother was Madonna, our friends were given Ozzy Osborne and The Queen, and I was Katie Price. Oh the laughs! Cider poured down my neck made the game probably more fun than it actually was. The countdown came so fast, and I rushed to the bar with my Mother, who lived up to the true spirit of the celebration by kissing every stranger in sight and forcing us both into a group sing song of ‘Old Lang Syne’. I was kissed by 3 men (on the cheek, mind – I am a lady) who all received affectionate nicknames in return – Mikey Mike The Waiter, Mr Big The Barman, and Stubble Dude. Giddy with happiness and slightly inebriated, I joyously wondered home, clutching Mother by the arm, and hugging fellow celebrators who stood outside of pubs we travelled past. I have never felt so high on life, and so optimistic about the year that lay ahead…

 

…That is, until the morning after. I awoke at 11, bleary-eyed, and exhausted. If I had not been forced out of bed, I would have willingly slept on until… Easter? I was in the mood where anything would annoy me, and I feel our hosts, the Hockeys, sensed this, as they soon produced a wondrous full English breakfast. This, of course, sorted me right out… Who can stay grumpy when there is bacon, sausages, mushrooms, scrambled egg and beans to be feasted upon?! The 4 hour journey back from Liverpool to Somerset was painfully long, and only eased by the presence of Mahjong Towers, and Maynard’s Wine Gums. Home, to my lazy oaf of a cat lying on my bed, and a deluxe boneless box from KFC while catching up on Downton Abbey with the parents. 

 

The New Year fills everyone with such optimism, which is how I have found myself here, writing my first ever blog at 21:47 on my tiny laptop. I’ll let you in on a secret, dear readers -one day, I hope to be a journalist. For this to happen, I need my journalism degree, and I have heard that a blog rather makes you stand out from the crowd of ordinary hopefuls. This year, I intend to write a smashing blog to entertain YOU and others alike. I usually get bored of doing the same thing, but I am hoping that the prospect of a good future will push me through to making this blog a success. Journalism is a tough industry to crack, and it is going to require a lot of work, but this is my first step on the long and winding road to success. 

 

I hope that you have found this first entry a thrilling read, and if not, then I hope you give me another chance and continue to read more entries from me. If you have totally given up on me, then farewell, and sorry for disappointing you by not delivering the words you had hoped to read. For those who have enjoyed it, please return to this site and I will continue to entertain!

Happy New Year everyone! Welcome to 2013. Make the most of it!


Image

 

2 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. notthebtkid
    January 2, 2013

    Superb writing m’dear!

  2. penkethking
    January 2, 2013

    Lovely first blog I look forward to reading the next one

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

