aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

My Marvellous Morning Music Mix!

As you saw yesterday, my dear readers, my first morning back at school was interesting – filled with Madonna, hungry mice and a screaming ginger. So, this morning, I planned to lie in my box of a bed until 5 minutes before breakfast. I was woken up like normal, and I checked my phone. 7:00AM. I smiled and rolled over, wrapping myself in my duvet like I was in a snug cocoon, happily drifting in and out of dreamland.

“Come on, come on, come on…”

I’m sorry, what? My eyes snapped open.

“Come on, come on, come on…”

I sat up in bed, confused at where these words were coming from.

“Ahhh… Ahhh…. Ahhh… AAAHHHH!!!!”

I jumped up from my bed and headed for the direction of this wailing noise, which happened to be outside my door. I swung my door open, and stared down the corridor.

“A LITTLE LESS CONVERSATION, A LITTLE MORE ACTION BABY!”

I slammed my door shut and threw myself on my bed, covering myself with my duvet, head under the pillow, resembling Lindsay Lohan’s character in Freaky Friday. Damn you, Elvis Presley! I checked my phone – 7:05AM. Who plays Elvis at this time in the morning?! I need calm music to wake up to, not his deep voice to an upbeat tempo! Yes, Elvis, please, a little less conversation at this time in the morning…

I began to think – What kind of music do I listen to in the morning? I realised I actually have a morning playlist, without even meaning to! The music varies as my day goes on… I feel I should share these fantastic playlist of mine with you, to see if you find that this occurs to you. So, here it is: My Marvellous Morning Music Mix! Enjoy!

That first moment when you resurface from the blissful imaginary land of your subconscious is crucial to how your attitude will be for the rest of the day. You need to be slowly eased into the day – like walking into a pool at snail’s pace to gradually get used to the temperature of the water. I’m not the one to ‘dive’ into the day – I need to doggy-paddle a little first. (Apologies for all the pool analogies – they’re just swimming around my head!) So I listen to a few mellow songs with a slow tempo, with some accoustic guitar, maybe a little piano, on a low volume to begin this playlist. This could be a little Ed Sheeran, maybe Branden Sipes, Matt Lungley, Jack Johnson or Jason Mraz. This slowly allows me to wake up peacefully.

I increase the volume and start to sing along as I make my bed, lost in my little music world. I grab my shower things and saunter off to the shower. This slow music is no longer appropiate for the fast falling water – I need something upbeat. A bit… Dance-like. On goes All Time Low, or The All-American Rejects, The Downtown Fiction, or We The Kings. I sing, dance, and rave with my iPod speakers, turning my shower into a joyous musical festival with only me attending.

I literally dance my way back to my room, and push my door shut to carry on with the routine. First though, I click Shuffle – a dangerous button! Whatever comes on, I have to sing to! Whether it be me attempting my inner opera to ‘Bathing Beauty!’ from Love Never Dies, or hitting baritone notes with a bit of ‘Mama Told Me Not To Come’ by the legend that is Tom Jones, I have a thoroughly good time. As a result, I leave my room skipping,  a smile plastered on my face and and a positive attitude to embrace the world with like a giant teddy bear hug. Such fun!

People don’t understand the dangers of messing up my morning routine. Forget the Dancing Queen, and welcome Shrek to the dorm. I stomp around in a foul mood, growling at my hairbrush when it gets stuck in my mane of hair. I pace the halls, throwing cushions at people until I find my shoes. No bubbly conversation – just 1 grunt for yes, 2 for no. So the next time you, inhabitant of the dorm, owner of the music speakers, want to play some music in the morning, choose wisely and consider the consequences of your actions, or you shall indeed be ‘Returned To Sender’ with Elvis in tow. Good luck.

Well, my dear readers, here ends another glorious blog entry! We are well into 200 hits by now – yay! Thank you all for reading this, and I hope you approve of my music taste! Feel free to inform of your personal music choice in the morning – I’d love to know. Thanks again for reading this. Much love to you all. Good night.

image

One comment on “My Marvellous Morning Music Mix!

  1. sheila marsay
    January 9, 2013

    a bit of Dean Martin will do fine ……. will remind you of your father lol xx
    love Grandma xx

Leave a Reply

