aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Food, Glorious Food! Can YOU Taste The Rainbow?

Waking up hungry can be an amazing feeling when you know that just downstairs awaits trusty cereal and toast to revive you in just a matter of seconds. But when you have to get up at 6:30 and wait a whole hour until you can eat breakfast, it’s a whole different story. The clock watching, the smell drifting down the road from the dining hall, and the agony of getting everyone to the hall so you can finally eat something is more frustrating than an itch you can’t quite reach to scratch.

At least the food nowadays is worth the wait. I remember the days of cardboard sausages, watery eggs and stale bread… But the food is now divine. My mouth literally waters as the queue gets shorter and shorter until I can finally get everything to eat in sight. Each meal is lush in it’s own way. Let me tell you of the glorious food at boarding school, my dear readers, and educate your minds beyond the beauty of home cooking.

Breakfast – Full English, cereal or toast, you may ask? Forget that, because you can have it ALL here! Load up your plates with meaty sausages, crispy bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, black pudding and juicy mushrooms! Fill your bowl with Sugar Puffs, Crunchy Nut Cornflakes, Coco Pops or Weetabix! Throw countless slices of white or granary bread into the toaster and grab an accompanying butter or jam of any flavour imaginable! Yes, breakfast is catered for all here – from boys attempting manly Full English breakfast portions, to the sweet-toothed girl of cereal, or the exhausted teacher craving a black coffee with 5 sugars to see them through a day with hundreds of adolescents constantly around them…

Personally, lunch is my favourite meal here. Oh, the choices are incredible! I once had a 5 course meal on a day that I was particually hungry. There’s cooked food – an assortment of meats and pies and stir frys, accompanied by all kinds of weird and wonderful vegetables. The cold salad bar is to die for, with baguettes, bagels, rolls, potato salad, pasta salad, make-your-own-salad station, and hot potatoes with various fillings. A different flavour soup every day (The Mighty Boosh cast would be so happy here, I tell you)! Fruit and yoghurts everywhere you turn, and little jelly pots or sponges. Dinner is very similar, but minus the fruit…

I think my favourite thing I’ve ever had for lunch here was a Salmon and Rocket Salad with Lemon Dressing – How weird to be eating healthily! At home, I’d have a tuna melt toastie, packet of Walker’s crisps or Quavers and a can of Diet Coke… Yet, here I am, shovelling green leaves in my mouth and exclaiming my desire for more! Hmm, yes, more… I wish my school was a little less ‘Oliver!’ with their portion sizes, and a bit more ‘Willy Wonka’… Any more though and I’ll have eaten so much lettuce that The Hungry Caterpillar will surely try to devour me!

Of course, there is a school Tuck Shop to go treat ourselves in if the meals were not enough… They serve everything there! From bacon baguettes and cheesy chips to chocolate bananas and wine gum packets, it’s all very appealing. My standard order is a Diet Coke and the most fantastic hot snack I’ve ever heard of – A Nutella Panini. If you have not had one, I urge you right now to make one! Whatever the time, wherever you are, whoever you are – You have GOT to try one! Sweet yet savoury, hot yet not burning, delicious yet not too filling… Whoever created these genius things, I praise you right now to high heaven for saving me on a cold winter’s day of lessons with a short time out with my beloved nutella panini… Ah, life is bliss…

I do sometimes play with my food though, my dear readers, but only if they have a variety of colours. I’m talking about M&Ms, Smarties, and Skittles! Today, I had the most brilliant fun arranging my Skittles into groups of colour and in a beautiful pattern. I then ate each colour seperately, until only one colour of each remained, where I then ate them all at the same time… This may sound odd, but don’t mock me – At least I know how to make sure I Taste The Rainbow!

All this talk of food has made me hungry – I might just have to eat my pillow. I know I shall wake up hungry now after describing all this fantastic food… But it’s fine… Only an hour to wait for food when I get up… *cries*

Well, my dear readers, it appears we have hit 400 views – how incredible! I am amazed, particually after I didn’t post a blog entry last night – I must apologise for this absence, but I had so much A Level work to do that I wasn’t in bed until the early hours and I would hate to deliver a blog not worthy of your attention! Do forgive me for this! Feel free to comment on how you Taste The Rainbow – I love the comments! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

image

3 comments on “Food, Glorious Food! Can YOU Taste The Rainbow?

  1. sheila marsay
    January 12, 2013

    Pk. I taste the rainbow just reading this.x fantastic

  2. coffee bean diet
    January 21, 2013

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you
    are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t
    already 😉 Cheers!

    • aspiringbird
      February 3, 2013

      Thankyou I’m glad you enjoyed it! Your comment just made my day, thank you so much! :’) x

Leave a Reply

