aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Les Miserables…

I stayed the night in London at my ginger friend’s house after my adventures at the theatre, and managed to sleep a fair bit, despite constant checks that the Woman In Black wasn’t at the door that kept opening independantly. I awoke fairly late, compared to the usual school timings, and set off with my giant camera and travellers backpack for the train to Waterloo.

Arriving at the station, we began our walk to the Imax Cinema where we were booked for the 1:30PM showing of ‘Les Miserables’. However, this walk took longer than expected. Round and round in circles we walked, Google Maps taking us as fools. Eventually, we discovered the cinema to be just behind the station. I felt like such an idiot, but at least we were there.

For those who have not been to the Imax Cinema, the screen is the largest in Britain. It takes the meaning of a cinematic experience to a whole new level. Both armed with popcorn and a bucket of Diet Coke, we took our seats in Row C (3 rows from the front) and watched Les Miserables.

Well. What can I say? I, the owner of a stone heart, who didn’t even shed a tear at Titanic, howled and shrieked with sadness at the beauty that was displayed in front of me. The emotion on Jean Valjean’s face; the heartache in Eponine’s eyes; the despair in Fantine’s voice; the scheming look of the Thenardiers; the rebellion in Marius; the defiant death of Gavroche. Anne Hathway’s voice was so beautiful and raw with heartbreak. The hilarious duo of Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen was fantastic – Master of the House was so terribly funny and clever. The little star that is Daniel Huttlestone stole my heart as Gavroche the moment he jumped up onto the cart. Eddie Redmayne played a fantastic Marius, and Hugh Jackman took my breath away with every pained expression and powerful song he delivered.

I had heard that Russell Crowe had been slated for his performance as Javert, and was ready to judge him. I have never disagreed with the critics so much. ‘Stars’ is probably the weakest and least favourite song of the play, regardless who sings it. Javert’s constant fight with Jean Valjean had me on the edge of my seat every time. I thought that he played his part excellently, exuding power through every bone in his body, making even me, safe in my seat, despise him. Yet, when he reveals himself as a broken man, not worthy of living, he touched my soul with the emotion in his voice, and I wanted to hug him, to tell him it’s not too late to be a good man. Tears fell down my face listening to his last song, seeing the pain and defeat in his eyes. Russell Crowe, I applaud you for your performance. You were an excellent Javert, and tugged on my heartstrings more than any villain has ever before.

I have never cried at a movie before, yet this one changed me. It touched my heart, and I couldn’t keep the emotion inside. Enough of this hard exterior, I said to myself, as Jean Valjean pulled Marius through the sewer, enough. Tears rolled down my face, thick and fast, soaking my cheeks and jumper. I wiped them away, but they continued to fall. I shook with emotion, breath caught in my throat, as I watched the most beautiful performances before me. Thank you, dear actresses and actors, for joining director Tom Hooper, and creating the most beautiful film adaptation of a show I have ever watched. Thank you, thank you… A thousand thank yous.

After wiping away the smudged eyeliner and mascara, we stepped out into the glorious city that is London. With time to kill before our train back to school, we wandered along the side of the Thames. London is so beautiful at night, alive with entertainers and people, people everywhere. We took many photos, and I stopped for the classic pensive stare across the Thames. The shot was disturbed by a man dressed as Frankenstein jumping from behind me to scare me. He succeeded, and me and my ginger friend ran away laughing, heading for the station. Waving goodbye to London was sad. So many memories had been made in that lovely weekend, and I didn’t want to leave the thrilling city behind to return to the hard life of a student in A Levels. Back to Dover, where my ‘castle on a cloud’ is indeed Dover Castle. But life goes on, and if Jean Valjean can do it, then so can I – at the end of the day.

Well, my dear readers, we are so close to hitting 1,000 views, I can almost taste it. Thank you so much for reading this blog, and I hope you too get the chance to watch Les Miserables – I highly recommend you should see it if you can. Now I must sleep, to dream a dream of years gone by (oh, Fantine). Much love to you all. Goodnight.

image

One comment on “Les Miserables…

  1. patsieann
    January 28, 2013

    I agree the film was great but the show was so much better….you must try to see the stage show .

Leave a Reply

