aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

I Want Superpowers…

Waking up and doing the same things, day in, day out. You eat the same things, wear the same sort of clothes, work all day, then crash at night. Next day, you do it all again. No thrills, no excitement. You aren’t living your life, you’re just existing.

Then one day, everything is different. You discover that you were in fact born on another planet, and can actually hurl a planet through space. You might get bitten by a spider, resulting in the ability to shoot web from your fingertips and climb walls. Life is changed from the usual mundane existence you had, to a life of power and responsibility to save the world.

A fun question I like to ask is: “If you could have any superpower, what would it be?”. I have multiple answers to this important question.

I’d like to be able to go invisible. Hide and seek would be so easy! You’d never have to worry about people talking about you behind your back, as you could sit in their room and hear them – so easy to know who to trust. I’d sit in the staff room and listen to all the gossip. I’d stand behind people and breathe in their ear to freak them out. I’d be able to hide if I was ever about to be caught doing something I shouldn’t. Such fun could be had with the power of invisibility.

I’d love to fly. When I was little, I dreamt I could fly, like the children in Peter Pan. I stood at the end of my bed, took a deep breath, and jumped forward like they had. I cried when I hit the floor, my dreams crushed and my leg in agony. If I could fly, I could see everyone I wanted to and not have to pay for expensive travel. I’d go to California and see my aunty, uncle and cousin there, or home to my dear family, or even Australia to see family there too. I wonder if there are ports in the air around the borders of countries for superheroes, to check their VISA or passport before they enter that country. Imagine the work permit – “My sole job is to save the world.” What a beautiful image that is…

Out of all the superheroes, I identify most with Batman. He has no superpowers as such, just the ability to change into a bat. It must be hard going to the bar ‘Superhero Saloon’ and hearing Clark Kent and Peter Parker bragging about their powers and showing them off, while Batman sits in the corner, alone. He must be bullied by the others – he is the outsider really. I think that’s why I like Batman. He forgets the other heroes, and goes on to save the world despite their taunts. His pure determination destroys their arrogance – who needs powers when you are as strong-willed as Batman? He has an awesome outfit too – classic black with one splash of yellow. So much more masculine than the brightly coloured Superman and Spiderman.

As I type this, I am proudly wearing my Batman onesie – complete with cape and masked hood. I feel the pain of Batman, and I know what it’s like to not possess such powers. He can’t fly or climb walls, and I can’t do things in school as well as other people. I don’t excel in sport, and although I love to act and play my saxaphone, I am certainly not the best. But it’s okay to not be the best – it’s only wrong to not strive for the best. Work for it, and you will do it. Batman defied them and saved the world, and I’ll keep working until I’m reporting on the BBC News in some far away country. Together, Batman and I are unstoppable. Long live Batman.

Well, my dear readers, forget 1,000 views, we’ve almost hit 1,100! My view count is exploding – I’m so proud! Thankyou for reading this blog entry, I hope you enjoyed it! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

image

4 comments on “I Want Superpowers…

  1. angeloliver9
    January 30, 2013

    PK, I would be Wonderwoman, Why? you have met me, I just am 🙂

    Your blogs make me smile, and are really good, keep up the good work xxx

  2. patsieann
    January 30, 2013

    Go for it BattyLotty !

  3. jordanaliciaoliver
    January 30, 2013

    I would be penguin-woman, because i would be able to speak their language survive on fish, they would pull through water like dolphins and also if i needed help in a battle their sharp beaks would come in handy. xxx

  4. sheila marsay
    January 30, 2013

    Brill Charlotte … your not batty !! keep them coming x

Leave a Reply

