aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Colourless Clothes.

Sometimes, my acute OCD can be a pain. It takes forever for me to eat my food, and my coloured pens are always running out. But other times, I’m rather thankful for it. Menial tasks can cheer me up when I’m feeling down, such as categorising my books or sorting out money into different piles of 1ps, 2ps, 5ps, 10ps, 20ps, 50ps, £1 coins and £2 coins. While these tasks seem boring, they distract me from anything troubling me and I feel like I have accomplished something at the end, so I’m happy.

Today, I set about organising my clothes in order to escape the stress of A Levels. I pulled all of my clothes out of my clothing organiser and threw them onto bed. I folded all of them, and placed them into categories of clothing; t-shirts, polo shirts, bottoms, shorts/skirts, baggy tops, and long sleeved tops. Each category would go into a seperate compartment of my clothes organiser.

I then set about colour coding each category, so the darkest item was at the bottom of the pile, and the lightest at the top. After putting them all away, I stepped back to admire my hard work.

It was then I noticed something odd. My clothes are practically void of colour. All my baggy tops are black with various bands on the front, and then one white that was made for a band trip. My tighter t-shirts are all white with dark images on or little coloured writing. All of my bottoms are either black or a very dark blue. The only colour in my clothes were my various coloured tight long sleeved tops, which I always use as a bottom layer underneath a hoodie, hidden from sight.

I turned in disbelief, and gazed upon the photos that cover the wall opposite my clothes. I saw a younger me, sporting all different items of clothing in pink, purple, blue, green, red and a dangerously bright yellow. This wall looked almost like a rainbow, yet my clothes resembled a black-and-white film.

I was shocked, to say the least. How did this happen? How did I go from a girl in bright, happy clothes, to a teenager with such a bland and dreary wardrobe? Why did I slowly replace my colourful clothes with black and white items?

Don’t get me wrong, I love my clothes! Tops with legends on, such as Guns ‘N Roses, The Beatles, and a cheeky Jedward t-shirt, to my father’s dismay. These clothes are all amazing, but it saddens me to see a wardrobe so void of colour. It looks depressing – how can I expect to be happy when I wear dark, gloomy clothes all the time?!

I have decided it is time to make a change. I seem to make a lot of vows in my blogs, so here is another one: I, Charlotte Penketh-King, do hereby declare that any time I decide to buy a new item clothing, it must be a bright colour, or at least have bright colours on. I want to cheer up my wardrobe, and I now know what to spend my £20 New Look Gift Card on – COLOUR!!!!

Well, my dear readers, at my last check, we have reached 1,226 views! Incredible! It really is unexpected to get so much interest, and really quite lovely. Thankyou for reading this blog entry – I hope it entertained you! Don’t forget you can follow this blog so you never miss anything I post – if you really love it that much, then I applaud you! Much love to you all. Good night.

image

3 comments on “Colourless Clothes.

  1. penkethking
    February 1, 2013

    Oh dear Charlotte does that mean a shopping trip is due?

  2. patsieann
    February 2, 2013

    Your personality is so colourful it outshines your clothes xx

  3. sheila marsay
    February 2, 2013

    Charlotte we all go through colour stages… don’t beat yourself up you do shine soooooooo bright.xxx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
