aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

The Reunion.

Beautiful people of the Internet, do you remember my friend Harriet whose birthday it was on the 31st January, and I dedicated my blog to her on that very day? Do you remember how I spoke of our distressing seperation, meaning we can’t see each other much due to her no longer being a student at my school? Do you remember how much I said I missed her?

Well, if you do, then I am pleased to inform you that today the distance was overcome. Harriet got on a train and, half an hour later, arrived in Dover. To see me. That’s right, she came all that way to spend just 2 hours with me. I told you our friendship was special.

The only problem to this arrangement was where we should meet. Of course, the train doesn’t take her straight to the school – there is still a huge hill from the station to the school. We decided that, as her train arrived at 3:25, she would climb the hill and I would descend down it, so we would meet halfway.

This meant I left the school alone. Everybody goes into town in groups, and I had never done the journey alone. I dislike silence, and so my trusty iPod came along too, so I didn’t feel like a complete loner. Kings Of Leon blasting through my headphones, I strode down the hill at a fast pace, overtaking groups in my excitement.

Just as I was halfway, I noticed a girl with brunette hair about 200 metres away, walking towards me. I stared, trying to figure out if it was my friend, but the strong wind made my eyes water, and my vision was blurred. We both continued to walk forward. It wasn’t until we were around 100 metres apart, and I was 90% sure that it was her, that I began to run. I thought to myself, whoever it is, they’re getting a hug. Thankfully, she began to run too, confirming my assumptions. It was like a scene from Baywatch, but minus the swimming costumes. I jumped into her arms, recreating the classic Shaggy and Scooby Doo shot. We were both so joyous to see each other that it wasn’t until we pulled apart from our embrace that we realised our audience of about 20 people walking down the hill. Oh well, friendship cannot be contained.

We walked into Dover, chatting excitedly and heading for the usual stop – McDonalds. We had the pleasure of witnessing the poshest worker I have ever met at McDonalds called Lucas (typically posh name) serving a chav who requested 4 cheeseburgers. Containing our giggles, we took a seat in the corner and tucked into our hot chocolates.

The funny thing about hanging out with an ex pupil on a Saturday in McDonalds in Dover is that the current pupils enter the fast food restaurant and rush over to greet the aforementioned ex pupil. Harriet was bombarded with conversation with people who dearly missed, while I sat in amused silence, like a parent watching her child chat to friends. I hope when I leave the school and return for a visit that I recieve a welcome like that.

After 2 hours of catching up and constant laughter, it was time to say goodbye. We hugged about 20 times, neither wanting to go as we both knew it would be a while before we met again. But she had a train to catch, and I needed to be back at school to get ready for a night out (I will talk about this in tomorrow’s blog, don’t worry, you haven’t missed out). Driving away in the taxi, I waved goodbye, and felt a hard pang of sadness in my heart as she disappeared from view. Farewell, dear chum.

But I know this is not the last time we shall meet. If we made the effort today, then we can make it again and again and again… And again. That is why I held back the tears today, ladies and gentlemen – for I have faith in our strong friendship. She was, is, and always will be, my best friend. Leaving the school has not allowed her to escape. And so, I smile, content and happy with an amazing day out in the town.

Well, my dear readers, I hope you have enjoyed tonight’s blog. Much love to you all. Good night.

image

3 comments on “The Reunion.

  1. penkethking
    February 3, 2013

    Bless you guys please continue this friendship for ever it is soooo sweet x

  2. kagslee
    February 3, 2013

    Friends are the family we choose for ourselves, she will be your friend forever. I really enjoy reading your blogs Charlotte x

    • aspiringbird
      February 4, 2013

      I hope so, I think we both would like that! Living with her has made her feel like a sister to me… Thank you kagslee! I love writing them, and your comments always make me smile! X

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
