aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Heartbreak Hotel.

I recall sitting on the floor last week, in my Batman onesie, talking to 2 friends of mine who were sat on the couch. We observed the room in silence, and all noticed the same thing: so many couples.

Of course, it’s the perfect time of year for couples to emerge. Girls want a boy to cuddle up with and keep warm next to on the couch through winter. What better Christmas present than to start a new relationship? Valentine’s Day looms closer, and nobody wants to be alone then.

So there are my thoughts on why there were so many couples around me that night. One friend voiced what we were all thinking – we had entered Central Couple City. My other friend claimed he was happy for them, finding love so young and being happy.

I admired his optimism, because as I surveyed the couples, I felt terribly pessimistic about it all. He looked and saw young love – I looked and saw heartbreak about to happen.

To quote James Blunt here, “I saw the end before it begun.”

Yes, these couples are very happy now. Yes, they are experiencing the delightful and dizzy feelings that you find when you embark on a relationship. Yes, they sure are comfortable enough to snog each other’s faces off, without caring who sees.

But what about when this honeymoon period is over? What about when you get past the month milestone, and it goes from fresh and new to a more serious, trusting relationship? Are these teenagers, who are as young as 14, ready for that commitment?

I think not. Relationships during school at a young age are not meant to last forever. It is rare to find school sweethearts now happily married. You are starting something new, you’re experimenting, and you aren’t always going to get things right. It’s all very well to start a relationship, but you have to be ready for the fact that it might end.

And when it ends, it will be ugly. The trouble with boarding school is that when you would normally go home and cry, you instead have to deal with 40 girls in your house constantly asking you why. You will be forced to be in the same room as your ex at least 3 times a day for meals, not counting lessons or assembly or chapel. There is no escape!

And if your ex decides to go out with someone in your house, you will have to walk through all the time and see him kissing some other girl right where he used to kiss you. You have to see her sitting with you on the couch in his hoodie that you used to love. You will hear the stories of what he’s said to her, of how funny he is, of the joke he told her that you originally told him. It. Is. Torture.

I was right to fear the worst for these young couples. Walking through the house yesterday, I saw a girl crying on the couch, surrounded by her friends who hugged her and held her hand as she wailed. I asked her what was wrong, and she explained how she and her boyfriend had argued and broken up the night before. I hugged her and told her it would be fine, but I knew it wouldn’t be.

I watched her tonight carefully, to make sure she was ok. She sat with her usual friends, and their boyfriends. She saw them kissing as she sat by, in the group yet completely alone without her boyfriend. I saw the pain in her eyes as a different couple took the corner that she had cuddled up to her boyfriend in every night for the past 2 months.

I sympathise for her, I really do. When you go home, you can escape the memories of your ex. But when you’re here, everywhere you look reminds you of him. Even your own house holds those painful memories.

This house is the worst for single people, whether they be newly single or single for a fairly long time now. Couples are everywhere, throwing the perfect relationships in your faces. They all look so happy and smug, pitying us singletons, but I know that in a week’s time I’ll be wiping away tears from the eyes of one half of an adoring couple.

And with Valentines Day next week, it won’t be getting much easier. I’m going to pop every balloon I see, smash every cookie and rip every card. I’ll be the Incredible Hulk for the day, taking vengance on all things lovey dovey! Which singletons want to join? Let’s trash the place!

Well, my dear readers, if you are single, then I can sympathise – we must stay strong this February. We can do it. If you are in a couple… *grits teeth into a smile* then I am delighted for you, and I hope you enjoy every moment you spend with your loving partner. At least your Valentine’s Day will be happy, eh?! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

image

2 comments on “Heartbreak Hotel.

  1. penkethking
    February 7, 2013

    One day your prince will come x

  2. sheila marsay
    February 7, 2013

    “intimidation creates vulnerability”

    There are knights in shinning armour out there.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
