aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Henry Olonga Speech.

Henry Olonga. What an ispirational man! Such a motivational speaker too! I am so glad that I was invited along to the speech he gave at my school tonight.

For those of you who don’t know, Henry Olonga was born in Kenya, and then a cricket player for Zimbabwe. He is most famed for the political stand he took in the 2003 Cricket World Cup by wearing a black armband with his team mate, Andy Flower, to ‘mourn the death of democracy’. Death threats after this stand forced him to live in exile in England. He is now pursuing a career as a singer and cricket commentator, and has produced a book, as well as delivering speeches about his story to people, such as at my school tonight.

Standing before his audience tonight, he delivered a speech that was motivational, inspiring and hilarious at points too. He made everybody laugh, but also think that they should always take a stand in what they believe in, because if you don’t, then nobody will.

Not only did he produce a fantastic speech, but he also sang for us. He performed ‘You Raise Me Up’ by Westlife, and ‘Swing Low Sweet Chariot’. He also sang two songs he wrote himself, one called ‘Make It All Count’, and another about his love for Zimbabwe. His voice has a delightful husk to it that made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, and his performances of the songs was completely moving. I totally reccommend you search him on YouTube, because his voice is just a treat to your ears!

This man is talented in so many ways. He can sing beautifully, play cricket like a beast, run fast, bravely stand up for his beliefs, give brilliant speeches, make people laugh with his witty tone and was also very academic at school. Is there anything he can’t do?!

I think what made me really like him though was how he didn’t boast about these talents – he simply claimed they were God-given and he was lucky to have them. If I had all those skills, I expect I would be extremely big-headed! Well, wouldn’t you be?! But no, Henry Olonga completely thanks God for these talents, and I think it is admirable how somebody can simply dismiss how much hard work he put in to get to where he is.

His story is incredible, and I think he is so brave for standing up for what he believes in, whilst knowing that terrible consequences would probably follow. I hope that I have the courage somewhere inside me to one day voice to the thoughts of those who can’t, and that I will express my beliefs as bravely and strongly as he has.

Well, my dear readers, I hope you have enjoyed this blog, and I advise you to read up on Henry Olonga if you are interested in his story! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

3 comments on “Henry Olonga Speech.

  1. penkethking
    February 9, 2013

    What an inspiring night you had x

  2. sheila marsay
    February 9, 2013

    Your comments are very touching, you too are very inspiring Hope you are feeling better

  3. Madryt
    February 10, 2013

    I think this is among the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
