aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Journey’s End.

I studied Journey’s End for 2 years for GCSE English Literature, and am now continuing to study it for my AS English Literature. I know Stanhope and the gang like the back of my hand. I certainly know them a lot better than the monkeys who acted as them in the play in Greenwich Theatre in London this afternoon.

You all know how I love the theatre. This performance was the 3rd play I’ve seen this year – and its only February! I had enjoyed both ‘Woman In Black’ and ‘Our Country’s Good’, so I was looking forward to Journey’s End as we walked through London, battling the wind and the rain and falling into puddles in our desperation to not be late.

And all for nothing. I was disappointed by many aspects of the play, and the theatre was so cold I almost froze to my seat. I had my wet jacket draped over my legs in an attempt at getting warm.

My biggest annoyance was that Trotter kept messing up his lines. He stumbled through breakfast, saying ‘I do like a bit of mean, uh, a bit of lean bacon’. He kept ‘umm’ing and ‘ahh’ing, and it annoyed me that he had the cheek to not learn his lines well enough for a paying audience.

Stanhope too forgot his accent was supposed to be that of a rather posh schoolboy, and suddenly went extremely Northern when he protested against the Seargent Major before realising his mistake.

The costumes began to fall apart as well. When Stanhope pushed Hibbert, something big and yellow, possibly a button, flew across the stage, into the audience and almost hit a man in the face! The scene was doomed from then. Stanhope made ridiculous faces the entire scene, looking a bit like a sad clown. As Hibbert knelt in silence, waiting to be shot, which is a very tense moment, you could suddenly hear the loud mioaw of an annoyed cat. This continued for a good 5 minutes, leaving me in fits of giggles.

As if the wrong words, rubbish costumes, awful accents, silly faces and interrupting cats weren’t bad enough, those actors sure had butter fingers too! They dropped literally everything. Cups, pens, pencils, notebooks, papers, jackets, liquids, bags, hats, string, blankets, cutlery – everything!

It angers me when people pay so much for a theatre performance and travel as far as we did to sit and watch mediocre actors not do their job properly. So many good actors and actresses, fresh from university, are unemployed, while these baffoons cannot act properly yet have a job! I just think its really unfair.

When asked by my teacher who my favourite character was, I shall have to answer The Interrupting Cat. Bravo cat, you stole the show!

Well, my dear readers, I am off to the land of the sleeping! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

2 comments on “Journey’s End.

  1. PoPPies1
    February 11, 2013

    oh dear just aswell your not doing a theatre review for a local paper x it sounds like your drama group would have done a much better job x

  2. sheila marsay
    February 11, 2013

    you sure put the world to rights PK x

Leave a Reply

