aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Ode To A Lost Love.

Today was the first day of Lent. As Jesus went for 40 days and 40 nights in the desert, as a test to his faith, Christiand traditionally give up something they hold dearly to their heart for the 40 day period. I have given up, ladies and gentlmen, Diet Coke.

Oh, it’s a dreadful day when one’s true love is snatched from their clutches. The one thing that keeps them going through the heartache of life. The one thing that is always there to brighten up your day. Your Valentine.

My relationship with Diet Coke has gone on for as long as I can remember. First off, it was Full Fat Coke that met me first, but naturally, I was horribly dismissive and fell in love with his skinnier friend with better style.

Sunbathing in Spain by the pool with my book on my chest. Eating lunch while watching How I Met Your Mother on E4. Chatting with friends as you walk around town. Travelling alone on the train to visit your sister. Revising for that exam tomorrow. Staying up with friends and watching a movie. Who fits in perfectly at absolutely all of these social occasions? That’s right – Diet Coke does.

It’s not even fattening, that’s the best part! Most good edible things are really fattening – sweets, chocolate, pizza, ice cream… But not Diet Coke. Each 330ml can contains 1 calorie – yes, only 1! Whilst the Full Fat Coke has 139 calories per 330ml can, and Cherry Coke has 149! Crazy math, but that’s yet another reason to love Diet Coke.

It’s been there for me through thick and thin. I can drink it with friends, companions, acquaintances, strangers or on my own. I love the taste and the high energy feel I recieve afterwards. I fear the withdrawal symptoms that are going to hit me. Already today, I have felt less enthusiastic about everything, have had a negative outlook on things, and I have a thirst inside me that countless bottles of water cannot satisfy.

If there is no blog tomorrow, then there will be two possible reasons why. I have either slipped into a comatose state through lack of Diet Coke, or the thick crowd of kissing couples will have killed me in their stampede of love. Either way, I’m doomed. Brilliant.

Well, my dear readers, what have you given up for lent? Comment below! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

image

2 comments on “Ode To A Lost Love.

  1. penkethking
    February 14, 2013

    Bless you I am sure we can find you a suitable replacement x giving up something you love that much for lent is admirable x x keep going only 39 days left x

  2. Nauru wycieczki
    February 18, 2013

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

