aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Oh, I Do Love To Be Beside The Seaside…

When Mother dearest woke me up with the suggestion of a speed walk along the seafront, my initial reaction was to grunt and turn over in bed. Exercising in the holidays? No thanks!

I eventually turfed myself out of bed, shoved muesli down my throat, threw on a baggy polo shirt and leggings and my trusty Converse, and climbed into the waiting car. Olly Murs on the radio cheered me up (how could it not?!) and the Sun warming up my skin made me decide that maybe today wasn’t going to be so bad.

Parking the car up at one end of the seafront, we proceeded to walk along the promenade. If I had seemed grumpy still, my darling Mother quickly sorted that. How can you be in a bad mood with an excitable midget attempting to sing the Les Miserables soundtrack running along next to you? And when I say ‘attempting to sing’, I mean failing. I can remember the lyrics to nearly every song I’ve enjoyed listening to, yet Mother cannot remember the lyrics I had sung a mere 5 seconds before her. I have never heard so many inaccurate and hilarious renditions of ‘Do You Hear The People Sing’ as I heard in those 3 hours. Oh Mother…

Walking along the promenade, I realised how lucky I am to live so close the seaside. For some reason, it was extremely sunny today, but we didn’t get too hot thanks to that strong sea breeze. So many people were out today! Pensioners walking their dogs, couples taking a leisurely stroll, and topless boys playing cricket on the sand (THANK YOU, SUN!). Striding along and taking in the beautiful view, I was filled with such a happy feeling.

The smell of fish and chips wafted over, making my stomach rumble. We decided to stop for a milkshake, and something extraordinary happened. As you know readers, I am a fairly poor student, relying totally on my dear parents for money (cue world’s smallest violin playing softly). In order to accumulate my own money to spend, I have been on the look out for a holiday job, but to no success. This darling cafe that we stopped in was small but extremely busy, and I decided to enquire as to if there were any jobs for the summer holidays. We were sent to the boss of the cafe. After explaining my current boarding school situation, we discussed the possibility of work in the summer. I expected a dismissive response about dropping of a CV for consideration… So I was very shocked when he invited me in for a trial basis as of 11AM tomorrow. I left the cafe smiling, thirst quenched and the prospect of a job. How unexpectedly wonderful!

Continuing our walk, we sang and pondered life’s many issues, quietly judging the general public and giggling like children. Coming up to steps, I took them two at a time, and then turned to laugh as my pint-sized mother hurried behind, trying to catch up with my gigantic strides. Walks with my mother are such a laugh.

It was on this walk that I discovered the wonderful news that this very blog had hit 2,000 views! How incredible! It hasn’t even been going for 2 months, yet it has smashed through 2,000 views and is still going up fast! I also had 106 views of the blog on today alone – a personal best! I joyously skipped along the beach, found a stick, and wrote a message in the sand for all you beautiful people of the Internet, which you can see photographed at the end of this blog entry. Thank you all so much for reading my blog, it fills me with such happiness at every milestone I hit! I wish I could thank you all individually, but I cannot, so my sand message is a way of showing my love for you all, so make sure you look at it – it’s just for you!

Clambering back into the car, my face felt burnt, and my legs ached. I was exhausted! But that walk was so much fun… I love the seaside! Ice cream, Sun, boys, sand, sea, laughter, fun, and a fantastic view. I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else, at least for now! Yay for Somerset and the sea!

Well, my dear readers, are you a beach babe, or you despise how sand seems to get EVERYWHERE? Comment below! Again, thank you all so much for reading my blogs… I am so proud to have hit 2,000 views today! Obviously, I couldn’t have done it without you all, so thank you! Much love to you all! Good night!

20130219-233110.jpg

4 comments on “Oh, I Do Love To Be Beside The Seaside…

  1. patsieann
    February 20, 2013

    Good luck tomorrow with your interview at the Cafe and congratulations on reaching 2000 !

  2. penkethking
    February 20, 2013

    Fantastic day out albeit aching a bit lol good luck today x

  3. sheila marsay
    February 20, 2013

    Hmmm like it x

  4. Michelle
    February 21, 2013

    Another good luck message for the job, and quit being so mean to your lovely mum!! P.s she didn’t make me say that, it’s just my mum is 12,000 miles away from me, so I am ever so slightly jealous 🙂

Leave a Reply

