aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

The Woman Of Work.

I apologise for not posting last night! I thought though, as I was spending all day at work both yesterday and today, my blog entries would hardly be any different. So instead, this blog entry is on both of my days at work.

I tell you now, when I was dropped off outside the cafe, I was absolutely terrified. I was so close to just turning around, running towards the station and catching the first train home. No, this is silly. I’d been offered a job, my first ever job – how could I just walk away now?! I braced myself, opened the door and shut it behind me, my hands shaking.

Opening the door rings a loud bell so that the staff know if there is a new customer so they can serve them. As a result, everyone in the cafe tends to turn and look at the door. I felt the eyes of everyone burn into me as I stood there, not knowing what to do or where to go. Before I could run away, the boss noticed me and said something to a young waitress. He then called over to me to follow her, and she led me out of the cafe.

Is this the moment I’m told that I’m not needed? That the boss had made a mistake, and there was no room for new staff? I immediately regretted my hesitation before entering the shop… Had I already ruined it? I felt a pain in my chest as I saw my opportunity fly away around the corner I was being taken… Hang on, where was I being taken? We came to a white van, and she began to search for something. What was going on?! I was overjoyed when she turned back around to face me and handed me my own work polo shirt and apron.

I excitedly disappeared next door into the toilets and threw on my uniform. I may or may not have done a little victory dance in the toilet cubicle… I studied my appearance in the mirror, tied my hair up and raced back to the cafe.

First half an hour was flat-packing boxes, and then I progressed to washing up… Oh, it’s a glamorous life, isn’t it? Soap suds up to my elbows, apron getting soaked, boiling hot water making my hands raw and plates thrown at me to be washed. So much washing up! Wash one plate, 3 more go into the sink.

I moved onto table duty. Let me ask you all a question: If there are dirty plates on a table and a waitress is trying to clear it, would you sit in the way as she struggles? As you are all beautiful people, I assume that your answer would be no. If so, you are welcome into any cafe I work at any time! It is so difficult trying to wipe down a table when people sit in the way, and you can’t sweep any crumbs anywhere in case they go onto the customer.

The first time I had to take out orders… Well, that was scary. I hurriedly took the two bowls, and timidly called out, ‘Number 19, 2 chips’. No answer. Of course there wasn’t an answer – nobody could have heard my tiny whisper! As the day passed, I slowly got braver and more confident, but I could definitely be louder… It’s just so intimidating when everyone looks at you, hoping for the food in my hands to be for them! One day, I’ll get used to it, I’m sure…

My lunch break is amazing. I get a free bacon sandwich and 20 minutes paid break! Strangely, after only 15 minutes, I was itching to get back to work. I could see tables not cleared, and in the end I decided to come back 5 minutes early. Such a dedicated worker, me…

My favourite thing to do? Till duty. It’s so much fun! You can actually talk to customers, and I’m slowly learning the prices for things. I can tell you how much sticks of rock cost, cod and chip specials, tea, coffee, crisps, chocolate, cans, ice cream, jumbo sausage, chips and cheesy chips… Which is about 1/20th of the menu. Brilliant. I’m gradually getting used to writing in shorthand, but that till hates me. It keeps beeping because I type things in wrong – give me a break, I’m new to all this! I feel like a genius whenever I get it right…

I finished at 3 today, but typically it was practically dead from 2:15 until 2:55, and the customers came flooding in. I could see my dad waiting in the car outside, but I couldn’t leave the customers like that! I finished off the queue, sold my last jumbo sausage and left the cafe into a blustery wind.

Climbing into the car, I realised how exhausted I was. 4 hours just flew by when it was busy! I got home and crashed on the couch in front of Criminal Minds.

It feels so good to get up and actually earn some money! Overall, in the past 2 days, I’ve earned £40 – wow! I’ve never had my own money, and I know the moment I actually receive my pay, it will be nice to know that I’ve actually worked hard for that cash, instead of it being my birthday or Christmas. I feel so grown up…

Well, my dear readers, do you remember what your first day at your job was like? I’m going to bed now – I’m so incredibly wiped out after the past few days! Much love to you all. Good night.

20130221-223348.jpg

4 comments on “The Woman Of Work.

  1. Billy Mason
    February 21, 2013

    I love your blog, keep it up!

  2. patsieann
    February 22, 2013

    Well done. We are very proud of you xxx

  3. sheila marsay
    February 22, 2013

    Welcome to the real world, well done xx

  4. penkethking
    February 22, 2013

    Really proud of you and your first day at work my first day was when I 8yrs old and I had to sit in a cold dark shed full of spiders and had to scrub the mud of potatos then weigh them and bag them into 5lb and 10 lb bags for our local village shop. I think you have landed a much better job than me and also your pay will be better as I got paid 5p for the small bags and 10 p for the big ones lol

Leave a Reply

