aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Freud and Jung Need To Just Hug It Out…

I had a day off work today, so I indulged in having an amazing lie in. I didn’t leave my boudoir until half past 10, where I then lay on the couch and watched Criminal Minds in my onesie. What a blissfully peaceful morning.

After relaxing all morning, I reluctantly left the couch and took myself upstairs to do some work, being the dedicated student that I am. The old coloured pens emerged from my pencil case, and I pulled out the trusty revision cards, workbooks and A4 paper, ready to kick some Religious Studies’ butt.

The reason I decided on focusing on RE is because I find it so incredibly difficult. English Literature – I can empathise with the agony those poets went through in World War 1, and can therefore understand their poems. History – I know nearly every Horrible Histories’ song off by heart, enough said. Drama – I find learning lines incredibly easy. But RE… That’s a whole big subject that I just can’t crack.

I’m fine with ethics. I can understand the morals from different religious perspectives. But psychology and religion? I just don’t understand it!

I think the reason I struggle is because I’m not learning any facts with psychology and religion. In History, you know that either the church was corrupt or it wasn’t – simples! But all the psychologists have different opinions on religion! Sigmund Freud teaches that inside every man there is a burning desire to have sex with your mum and kill your dad, and religion is created to help us cope with sexual trauma… I’m sorry, but what?! This man is famed for taking cocaine on a regular basis, and yet the exam boards expect me to learn from this man? I am quoting a raving lunatic!

Carl Jung was just as delusional. He said that religious images are used by the mind to individuate the personality. Maybe it’s because of my Christian background that I get so annoyed by this, but I don’t understand why psychologists cannot accept that not all religious people are crazy! If they really believe there is no God, can they not just declare religious believers as hopeful that there is more to death than just nothing? I’m not looking forward to supporting the views of men who call me and what I believe in delusional and wrong…

If I could go back in time, I would make Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung have a massive cuddle. I would give them both a bottle of Freud’s favourite drink, vodka, and hope that they’d get so wasted that they would fall into each other’s arms and decide that they agree with each other on anything. I dream of a day that this is possible, because if it happened, then the AS RE course would be so much easier. If they had just agreed on Freud’s theory of religion being a neurosis caused by sexual trauma, then maybe I’d actually be able to pass AS Level RE. Had I organised this boozy meeting between Freud and Jung, I would be so loved by a whole swarm of AS Level RE students who would thank me joyously for saving them from having to learn each individual theory, and making their lives so much easier! If only…

The only thing I really remember about Freud and Jung? Their awesome middle names. Sigmund ‘Schlomo’ Freud and Carl ‘Gustav’ Jung. No wonder they disagreed! If you’d met someone who works in the same field as you who had an equally awesome middle name, you would either be best friends with them, or they’d become your new sworn enemy. I wish they had been best friends… The dynamic duo would have made RE a lot more enjoyable – they would be the Ant and Dec of their time! But no, their petty disagreements have made studying RE a living hell. Thanks a bunch, Schlomo, Gustav.

Well, my dear readers, if you could go back in time and change something, what would it be? Comment below! Much love to you all. Good night.

20130222-222743.jpg

2 comments on “Freud and Jung Need To Just Hug It Out…

  1. patsieann
    February 23, 2013

    Lovely blog…….and really a big hug would solve most of the problems of the world

  2. Cowboy Bebop
    February 23, 2013

    couldnt agree more

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
