aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Brokeback Mountain.

This evening was doomed to be a boring one. I flopped onto the couch and surveyed the room. Couples… Couples everywhere. I snuggled up to one of my dear 4th form, and we selected ‘Nanny McPhee’ on the TV. Bored of sitting there, my 4th form friend ran away to mess around with her dorm, and I was left alone with the couples. It may sound just like a situation when there is one person alone and feeling unloved… But it was worse than that. I felt like Simon Pegg as Shaun in ‘Shaun of the Dead’ outside The Winchester, surrounded by blood-thirsty zombies. I backed into the sofa in fear, glaring at their smug smiles.

Like a guardian angel, my ginger friend emerged through the doorway, inviting me to come watch ‘Brokeback Mountain’ with her. I escaped from the carnivorous couples, shooting a daring look at their ‘innocent’ faces. I followed my ginger friend into her room, and got comfy on the bed. Upon questioning her on the nature of the film, she laughed and uttered two words – “Gay cowboys”.

My innocent mind assumed that, since the film had 2 gorgeous straight actors, Jake Gyllenhaal and Heath Ledger, playing gay men, then the film wouldn’t be totally outrageous with its gay acts. I wondered on whether the film would just imply that they were homosexual, or if it would actually show them, dare I say it, kissing? Surely they wouldn’t have 2 straight men kiss? Maybe they cleverly placed their hands on each other’s faces to make it look like they were kissing? With questions running through my head, my ginger friend turned the lights off and pressed play.

Well. I am shocked, to say the least. As I said, the most I thought would be some cleverly angled shots of them kissing. I did not expect to witness explicit… Tent fun. Covering my eyes and squirming with embarrassment, I peeked out through my fingers in total shock at what was happening before my eyes. I hit my ginger friend repeatedly, exclaiming my disbelief, while she laughed loudly at my immature reaction.

I was extremely surprised by the ending. SPOILER ALERT. I couldn’t believe that Jake Gyllenhaal’s character had died! I had expected him to have stolen Heath Ledger’s character’s shirt, yet I still found myself feeling rather emotional when Heath clung onto it and bawled his eyes out. Such a sad film… A beautiful love story with such a tragic ending. I love a happy ending, so I left the room disheartened. Both Gyllenhaal and Ledger are fantastic actors, and portrayed heartbroken homosexuals surprisingly well, despite of how tricky it must have been to get into that mindset. I really recommend the film, but possibly not one to watch with your family members…

Well, my dear readers, do you think Brokeback Mountain is a wonderfully tragic love story, or just a rubbish film? Comment below! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

20130302-234059.jpg

4 comments on “Brokeback Mountain.

  1. penkethking
    March 3, 2013

    I love this film I remember taking your papa to see this, the cinema was full of woman and coupled men and he turned around to me and said I can’t believe you brought me to see a chick flit, I made him sit through it and the pair if us left the cinema at the end in floods of tears x x cracking film x x

  2. Nigeria Job vacancies
    March 9, 2013

    On every weekend, we all friends together used to watch movie, because enjoyment is also necessary in life.

  3. Nigeria Job vacancies
    March 9, 2013

    You have to waste less time to search your required topic on internet, because nowadays the searching strategies of search engines are nice. That’s why I fount this article here.

  4. Pingback: Brokeback Mountain (2005) | timneath

Leave a Reply

