aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

No Post On Sundays – R.I.P Richard Griffiths.

Home! I’M ACTUALLY HOME! Ahh I’ve looked forward to coming home for so long… To climbing into the car… Driving all that way… Falling through the door and onto my bed where I shall sleep for an eternity… And I’m finally here. Finally… I’m finally home!

I actually have been home a couple of days now, but I haven’t blogged about it yet – I’ve been far too laid back at home! Sorry! So, this blog should catch you up on what I’ve been doing for the past 2 days, with plenty of pictures to accompany it! Enjoy!

I left school on the Wednesday morning, after a pleasing parents consultation in which my teachers rambled on about how utterly brilliant I am – typical, eh? First thing on the agenda when I leave school though? MCDONALD’S FEAST! Now, I know you’re thinking that I just mean a standard meal, right? WRONG! My Father and I go all out for that celebratory McDonalds on the way home. We ordered a Big Mac, a Deli of the Day, a large Sweet Chilli Chicken Wrap meal, a medium Pepsi, some Chicken Dippers, a Crunchie McFlurry (free with my Student Discount Card) and a Triple Chocolate Chip Muffin. Needless to say, we rolled out to the car, and trundled home, full, happy and with enough fat clogging up our arteries to bring on a heart attack! Glorious! We arrived home late afternoon, and then had a comfortably lazy evening in front of the TV when Mother came home. Bliss.

Thursday. To be perfectly honest, I didn’t really want to study on my first day of FREEDOM! I planned on spending a lazy day on the couch, catching up on some good old daytime TV – How I Met Your Mother re-runs? Yes please! However, I feared reaching the end of the day feeling like I had accomplished nothing. I hate that – when you feel like you’ve wasted a whole day. Instead, I bought a 89p chocolate cupcake mixture from Morrisons and set about baking! Father dearest found some adorable little cases that we had once used for jellies, and we decided to try them. Unfortunately, Father has never been one for baking sweet treats and deserts – he is more of the ‘main meal’ type of chef. As for me, I love baking cakes, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I’m any good at it. To cut a long story short, we filled all the cases, little and big, up with too much mixture, causing my darling cupcakes to emerge with what looked like tumours. Following the lesson taught in Monty Python’s ‘The Life of Brian’, we looked on ‘the bright side of life’, and nicknamed the cupcake spillages ‘Humour Tumours’. In case you wondered, they tasted delicious!

Finally, Friday! I returned to work today! Rocking up at 1PM, I was quick to discover that I had almost completely forgotten how to use the till… Oops! Luckily, the wonderful staff there took me back under their wing and helped me through my first day back… How sweet! Looking up to serve the next customer at around 3 o’clock, I was startled to discover 2 familiar faces. My Mother and Father had decided to drop in for coffee. How wonderful! Their presence at the cafe made me smile initially, but also made me slightly more nervous as I desperately tried to prove to them just how good I was at my job! When Mother picked me up at 6 o’clock that evening, she informed me if just how at ease I had seemed, which put yet another massive smile on my face! Nothing like your mum’s praise to make you feel more confident! Dropping by Morrisons, I managed to persuade my darling Mother to buy a Hot Chocolate Cake for desert tonight. To be perfectly honest, it didn’t take much persuading – she recalled just how delicious it was before and bought it willingly. Devouring it tonight was simply heavenly – such a treat after a cold day stood at the counter next to a wide open ice cream window that let in the ice-cold wind that blew constantly! We watched Monty Python’s ‘The Life of Brian’ – hence my quotation earlier! I had never seen it, and was hugely entertained! I have since retired to my boudoir and am ready to go to sleep once I have posted this long, overdue blog post. I am thoroughly exhausted after working a full 5 hours today, but I am happy in the knowledge that I have just earned myself £25! How absolutely brilliant!

On a side note, it is with great sadness that I mention the loss of the fantastic actor Richard Griffiths. He passed away on Friday 29th March after complications in heart surgery. I have personally enjoyed his acting, particularly as Uncle Vernon in the Harry Potter series, and it is thanks to his delivery of the line in the first HP movie that I know there is ‘No post on Sundays!’. My thoughts go out to his family and friends at this difficult time. He was the most magnificent and magical muggle Uncle Vernon that Potterheads worldwide could have ever asked for. R.I.P Richard Griffiths.

Well, my dear readers, are you like me in the kitchen, or are you more like Nigella? Comment below! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

20130330-013122.jpg

20130330-013157.jpg

20130330-013230.jpg

20130330-013548.jpg

2 comments on “No Post On Sundays – R.I.P Richard Griffiths.

  1. penkethking
    March 30, 2013

    It’s lovely to have you home darling we have lots planned to amuse your blog readers over the next two weeks x

  2. I adore your wp template, wherever would you download it from?

Leave a Reply

