aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Baths: To Bubble or Not To Bubble?

Happy Easter everybody!

I must start this post with an explanation as to why there was no Saturday night blog post. I left it rather late to write that blog post, and didn’t get round to it until the early hours of the next day, as I often do, and it usually isn’t a problem. However, I had already made a pact with fellow Potterheads across the globe to not post anything on the Internet on Sunday 31st March as it is the first Sunday following the death of Richard Griffiths. He is the actor who played the character Uncle Vernon in the Harry Potter series and he coined the phrase ‘No post on Sundays’. As a silent tribute to the man, we all decided to not post anything on the Internet the first Sunday after his death, and that was this Sunday. To make up for no Saturday blog, I am now writing Sunday’s blog to post in the early hours of Monday morning so as to keep up with the ‘No post on Sundays’ pact. On re-reading this, I realise how complicated that all sounds. I hope you understood it. If not, then just know I’m sorry for missing Saturday’s blog. ON WITH TONIGHT’S POST!

After a long and hectic 5 and a half hour shift at the cafe today, I was treated to a huge Sunday roast and chocolate brownie desert, filling me up immensely. Collapsing onto the couch afterwards, I realised just how tired I was. Happy to be resting after such a busy day, I remembered that I am up at 7AM tomorrow for work at 8AM. Brilliant.

My darling Mother saw how tired I was and suggested a nice relaxing bath before bed. I agreed happily, and off she went to run it for me as I was far too lazy to get up from the couch myself – such an angel. When it was being run, I slowly climbed the stairs, complaining loudly as I went. The All-American Rejects’ album ‘When The World Comes Down’ was selected to play softly on my iPhone. I threw my work uniform into the washing pile and entered the bathroom.

And that’s when I saw it. The thing that would ruin my glorious bath before bed. The thing that my Mother adores, yet I despise. It was there. Interrupting my beautiful bath. It obstructed the scene of clear, clean, hot water in the bathtub. It ruined it in a way that only it can do. I stared in horror and disgust as it lay about my bathwater, ready to destroy it as soon as possible. What is this evil thing sent by the Devil himself, I hear you ask? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you the name of this hellish thing. I’ll tell you right now.

Bath. Bubbles.

Oh, I just HATE bath bubbles! Why?! Why is there ever a need for bath bubbles?! They get in your hair, meaning that you never truly wash everything out of your hair. They stick to your body, so that when you get out of the bath, you spend 5 minutes attacking yourself with a towel trying to get rid of the damn things! They make a horrible sound all the time – not the delightful ‘pop’ of the usual bubble, but this noisy crinkle constantly in your ears. When you push them away, they simply follow you back, gliding across the water like a soapy Satan. Oh, I hate them!

I stood for 10 minutes by the bath pouring water onto all the bubbles until they were vanquished. Still, they left behind that foamy aftermath so I never truly escaped the horror of the bubbles. I climbed into the bath reluctantly and continued to push the last bubbles away from my head. When they had all been destroyed, I finally relaxed and had the most wonderful bath, enjoyed all the more because of the amount of work I had to actually put in, in order to have the damn bath. Bliss.

Mother finds bath bubbles relaxing so she puts them into the bath for her, and she doesn’t always remember my utter hatred for them. Who can blame her? Every girl in the world except me LOVES bath bubbles, it would appear! Honestly, think back to every girly film you’ve ever watched. Sex And The City – Samantha loves a good bubble bath. Bridget Jones’ Diary – Bubble bath for Bridget. The Holiday – bubble baths in LA and England! Wild Child – a whole line of bubble baths for all the girls! Hell, even Chandler joins in the girly fun of a bubble bath in Friends, stealing Monica’s from her! EVERYBODY LOVES BUBBLE BATHS – EXCEPT ME!

Tell me I’m not alone, readers. Tell me that you see why my hatred is valid. Admit you hate the bubbles encasing your naked body in a crinkly, white, foamy shell. Don’t pretend you love that awful sound of dying bubbles, like the static on the radio when there isntI’m sure I can’t be the only one to see these things as utterly pointless and just a total pain. Surely not… Am I right?!

Well, my dear readers, do you enjoy bubble baths? Or are you just like me but keeping quiet about it? Voice your thoughts! Comment below! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

20130401-002059.jpg

4 comments on “Baths: To Bubble or Not To Bubble?

  1. penkethking
    April 1, 2013

    Well my darling it is really funny that I find out about this loathing of lather in ones bath only today in your blog lol I promise never to do such a terrible thing again x

  2. sheila marsay
    April 1, 2013

    Oh dear, here is an easy solution …. just wash your hands with soap in the bath and the bubbles will disappear just like Magic. love G Ma x

  3. patsieann
    April 1, 2013

    I’d like a mum who ran a bath for me …I wouldn’t mind what she put in it !!!

  4. mover relocation
    April 24, 2013

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that.
    mover relocation http://wiki.mabotech.com/index.php?title=The_Easy_Methods_To_Understand_removals_And_How_One_Could_Join_The_removals_Elite

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
