aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

Phantasialand!

Wednesday morning arrived with a frightening image of a pink horse head staring at me! I know I said I loved the weird things, but they didn’t half give me a scare when I awoke to them watching me! Creepy…

I dragged myself from the bed and put on God knows how many layers ready for a day of thrills, scares, fun and sugar in the cold country of Germany. For today, ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, the family and I were off to Phantasialand!

For those of you questioning what this land is that I speak of, Phantasialand is a giant theme park in Bruhl near Cologne in Germany. It’s like a combination of Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, and Alton Towers, but way better!

I am very biased in my opinion, as Phantasialand was the first ever theme park I went to, thanks to living 50 miles away from the park from age 5 to 7. We went for every birthday, as the birthday girl/boy gets into the park free, so we were there at least 2 times a year, which I suppose is a lot!

The last time I went to the park was when I was 7, which was 9 years ago. It was interesting to see what had changed. There were so many new rides, and it was sad to see that some of our old favourites had been replaced. Some had survived though, and we made sure to go on those ones!

I’d have to say my favourite ride was The Colorado. Now, my mother and I are proper wimps when it comes to scary roller coasters. Anything with tight corners, incredible heights or sudden darkness is considered terrifying in our minds. The Colorado had it all. My brother and Father love these rides, and to show how brave we were, my mother and I pretended to be unfazed as we queued with them. The closer to the front we got and the more screams we heard, the faster our heart rate got. We got to the front, and my brother and Father climbed into the two seats in front of mine and Mother’s seats. It was then that my Mother decided to whisper to me, ‘I really hate this ride.’ Oh thanks, Mother, that’s such a comfort! Ah well, at least we were united in fear as the ride began to slowly go into the tunnel.

I cannot tell you what happened in that terrifying minute of my life. I only remember little things. The wind pushing my head to the back of my headset. The incapability to shut my mouth, despite fearing a feast of flies. The beautiful harmony of screams between my Mother and I. We created the most glorious playlist for fellow thrill seekers on the ride, much to the amusement of my Father and brother. The resulting photo at the end was the ugliest thing I have ever seen, but hilarious! We were white and shaky, but both had enjoyed the most fun that we’ve had in years.

As for food, we bought long, sausage-like donuts called ‘Fingerling Fritters’ with a chocolate sauce. They were a tougher dough than a usual donut, and tasted totally weird, but strangely nice. Of course, I had my ‘Laugenbrezel’ which I had become strangely addicted to. They are a giant German pretzel which is dipped in lye solution (NaOH) before baking. They. Are. Delicious. Sometimes a little too salty, but delicious all the same.

After a full day of fun despite being totally frozen, we all collapsed into the car, completely exhausted. We were all way too tired for dinner out in Cologne, so we got a Chinese take-away and had an early night. I think I was asleep before my head even hit the pillow. I love my bed…

Well, my dear readers, do you love a scary ride, or are do you feel safer watching from the ground? Comment below! Much love to you all. Goodnight.

20130406-232947.jpg

20130406-233218.jpg

20130406-233239.jpg

20130406-233255.jpg

20130406-233312.jpg

2 comments on “Phantasialand!

  1. penkethking
    April 6, 2013

    Such fun that was despite the freezing wind and snow but how warm we all were with all that adrenalin running through our bodies x great day x x

  2. sheila marsay
    April 7, 2013

    I take it a good day was had by all xx

Leave a Reply

