aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Throughout our lives, more and more responsibilities are placed upon us that eventually change us from children into adults. Yes, this is necessary, or we would achieve nothing at all. But sometimes, there are excuses for letting that child inside of you burst out and act completely ridiculous, just for a moment. And when is it a better time to do this than CHRISTMAS.

Christmas. I love almost EVERYTHING about Christmas. I’m the type of person who celebrates from 1st December, and I do it every year. This year, my eyes sprung open dead on 7AM, like I’d just been connected to a drip of fresh percolated coffee. I jumped out of bed and sprinted to my laptop, clicking buttons furiously until Slade’s ‘Merry Christmas Everybody’ played out loud and clear. I danced around my room for a while in my pyjamas until I was interrupted by an equally excited blonde girl outside my room playing Justin Bieber’s Christmas album down the corridor to wake everybody else up. I then scrambled across the room to my advent calendar, ripping apart door number 1 and smiling at the cheesy joke within (What do polar bears eat for lunch? Ice bergers!). I devoured the teeny tiny chocolate treat that number 1 had held hostage from me until now, relishing at the thought of the first thing that I would eat every morning for the next 25 days would be chocolate. How wonderful.

Decorating the boarding house with loads of classically cheesy decorations was fun, although it wasn’t as fun as it is at home. There is definitely an art to decorating a tree. I don’t know how you guys do it, but we have a system. It takes forever to twirl around the tree putting fairy lights and tinsel on, especially as our tree is against a wall so it becomes a 2-man job. Then trying to find a branch for every single tree ornament that our family has acquired over the years. But we don’t just stop at the tree like other houses tend to do. Oh dear God, no. We aren’t the type who have the tacky blow up Santa and snowmen smothered in bright multi-coloured flashing lights outside their house to show the whole world how much we REALLY DO love Christmas. No. We’re much more… Subtle than that, shall we say. We have beautiful little houses with tea-lights inside that create a Christmas village on our chest of drawers. Then there are the 3 small handmade stockings hanging over the fireplace for each ‘child’ in our family. There are the miniature wooden figures on our mantelpieces, accompanying tiny wooden reindeers lining the fireplace that lovingly guard the plate of biscuits and carrots and a glass of port on Christmas Eve for Santa Claus and his reindeer. In the arch way that separates the living room and dining room is a piece of string with our Christmas cards hanging on – of course, I have to hang this up, as the tallest member of the family, which is the action that every year, without fail, provokes many comments on what a lovely big girl I am from my grandparents, leading to everybody rushing over to see who looks the silliest next to The Giant. Wonderful.

I am aware that every family goes about their Christmas Day differently, but every year we do our day the same. Allow me to run you through the Classic Penketh-King Christmas Day! Enjoy!

Awaking bright and early on Christmas Day in our new Christmas pyjamas, my younger brother rushes into my room to awake me. Hearing his call of ‘Santa’s been!’ always manages to turn me into a morning person as I spring out of bed immediately. Maybe I should have that set as my alarm for school days… Hmm. We both grab our stockings from the foot of our beds and sprint into my parents’ room, much to their joy. Sitting on the end of their double bed as they slowly wake up, we rip apart every little present from inside our stockings, covering the bed in wrapping paper. We always get a variety of small presents in our stocking, and in mine this year were things such as headphones, Batman socks, books, underwear, and, of course, the classic chocolate selection box and tangerine. We then trudge downstairs, waking my grandparents as we go past their room, intending on eating pure chocolate for breakfast. Relaxation in front of the television isn’t for long though, as we soon have to get ready for the 10:45 Christmas Service at our local church. Dressed in our Sunday best, we all attend (except Father who stays home to cook our humble roast) and sing our hearts out. I was fairly embarrassed this year when I sang along loudly to ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’ to discover that nobody sings the descant. Well. Nobody except me. Oh dear… Returning to the house, there is then a painfully long wait for dinner as my brother and I stare at the mound of presents under the tree, knowing we aren’t allowed to open them until after we have eaten. After much begging and whining, my mother finally gives in to letting us open 1 present each before dinner, much to our delight. And then, of course, the big Christmas Dinner. A starter of smoked salmon and cream cheese lead to a massive spread of turkey, potatoes, parsnips, carrots, broccoli, peas, stuffing, sprouts (bleurgh), cranberry sauce, bread sauce, all smothered in gravy! Our bodies stuffed full to the brim, we waddle into the living room to watch our dear Queen and her annual Christmas speech. Then, PRESENTS! Finally! This year, I got a variety of amazing things, including a mountain of clothes, gift certificates, books, shoes, and a surprise present (I’ll get back to that one). After all the presents are unwrapped, mother and the grandparents tend to fall asleep on the couch in front of the TV, and Christmas Day seems to drift away peacefully until the evening, where board games such as ‘Sorry!’ and ‘Scrabble’ and ‘Articulate’ are played all the way up to bedtime. Collapsing into bed at the end of the day, exhausted, full and happy, it seems all is good in the world.
Now, my parents ALWAYS hide a surprise present which they ‘reveal’ at the end of the day, and it is always the greatest present EVER. So, there we were, waiting. And waiting. And waiting. Everybody went to bed and, well, we were still waiting. Although absolutely thrilled to pieces with what I had received, I was a little saddened to discover that there was no surprise present. When we travelled to my sister today and exchanged presents (I got the world’s fluffiest and warmest hat), I was in for a shock. Presenting both my sister and I with a brown envelope, we tore them open, and there it was. The present I’d been waiting for. The present I thought I wasn’t going to receive. It was there, in my hands, real, all for me. We screamed and cried, clutching our McBusted Tour tickets in our hands, hugging and kissing my mother as she fell about the floor. I cannot wait to go, especially with my sister – a fellow McBusted fan. It’s actually amazing. I can’t believe we got tickets! Best. Present. Ever.

I adore Christmas, and am quite sad it’s all over, to be perfectly honest. I love all the family being together, surrounded by love, presents, and, of course, delicious food. But there’s always next year, huh? At the moment, I’m really looking forward to New Year’s Eve with my friends in Bristol – but I’ll tell you all about that when it happens! And while that is a very good reason to be looking forward to New Year’s Eve, it’s also a fairly big milestone for me on that date in question: A whole year since I started this blog! How amazing!

 

Well, my dear readers, what was your favourite present this Christmas? Comment below! Much love to you all! Goodnight!

photo

ju

d

idshafg

3 comments on “MERRY CHRISTMAS!

  1. patsieann
    December 28, 2013

    Sounds an absolutely fantasticosy Christmas…….miss you all and love you all, Aunty Patsie & Uncle Otto xxxxx

  2. kagslee
    December 28, 2013

    A lovely blog go a perfect Christmas xxx

  3. kagslee
    December 28, 2013

    Go = such xx

Leave a Reply

