aspire2inspireblog

As you read this blog, I must warn that you will find, honest thoughts, ambitions, and hopes from my mind.

2015 dream…

I’m excited at the prospect of returning to university tomorrow, not for the thrilling 7 hour workshop that awaits me or the bus that will probably cause me to stand waiting in the estimated -15 degree weather at 8AM, but for the sheer thrill of writing 2015 for the first time in my workbook. Sad, I know. I’ll probably write 2014 anyway in my zombie-like state as I have to wait til 1PM to be able to grab a coffee…

It’s been a challenging start to 2015 for myself… Among all the things that have gone wrong so far in the first three weeks of the year, catching bacterial tonsillitis on New Year’s Day was probably one of the worst. I must say as my mother whisked me away from my cold apartment to hospital, my attire resembling that of a homeless man, I had a pretty dim view as to how the year was going to continue. However, upon receiving a 2:1 for my first university module a few days ago, I’m beginning to have a more positive outlook on what 2015 will bring me. Hopefully catching tonsillitis so early into the year has now cleared my way for (touch wood) a healthier year.

Completing my first year at university is definitely going to be a highlight of 2015. Although I have certainly been enjoying my chosen degree of Journalism BA (Hons) at UWE, Bristol, what with the variety of modules and a fantastic group of friends I have the honour of learning with, I have to admit I was struggling to gage just how successful I had been in my assignments without receiving much feedback. It’s all very well enjoying them, but actually producing good content is a very different thing. Deadline week was the most difficult, time-consuming, exhausting 7 days that I have ever had to endure in my entire life. If it were not for the support network of my friends and family, and copious amounts of diet coke and snack food (my body is still suffering), there is no way that I would have been able to click ‘Submit’ with a shaking hand on my portfolio on the dreaded deadline day. This was followed by a tiny sigh of relief as I genuinely collapsed back into my computer chair in the UWE library, feeling triumphant and successful but without any energy to express such emotion. I then went on to enjoy my Christmas, but as the New Year dawned, I felt fear within my heart as each day progressed and I painstakingly checked my coursework tab every day without fail, to find nothing. Alerted by a fellow journalist that the marks were out, I rushed to my tablet, desperately clicking through my internet to find the tab. Reading the feedback with my heart in my mouth, I was thrilled to find mostly positive comments with constructive criticism guiding me in areas I knew I had found difficult. Staring at my percentage marks and the giant ‘2:1’ that beamed out from my screen, I felt myself bursting with pride as I took a moment to celebrate alone with several embarrassing punches in the air before FaceTiming my mother to tell her the good news. With this result showing that my hard work had finally paid off, I am now incredibly excited to continue with my degree. A 7 hour workshop tomorrow is certainly going to hit me like a tonne of bricks tomorrow morning, but I’m up for the challenge. I want to feel that immense surge of pride every time I receive an assignment back – I can only get better from here, and it is incredibly encouraging to have this confirmation that I am headed on the right career path for me.

There are so many other things that I am looking forward to in 2015 that you will undoubtedly witness me blog about if you continue to read my ramblings… Here are just a few:

> Attending another concert with my beautiful sister.
> Going on holiday to the Canary Islands.
> Camping with my friends.
> Thorpe Park with the journo crew.
> Finally living in a house with my mad university group.
> Many more nights of embracing living in the heart of the insane city that is Bristol.
> Finding some work experience in broadcast journalism.
> Music festival?!
> Generally enjoying being surrounded by beautiful people – family, old friends, new friends…

I hope every one of you has an incredible year, and achieves at least one of their aspirations. It’s never to early to start chasing your dreams – let 2015 be the year you make it in this world. Much love to you all. Goodnight.

image

2 comments on “2015 dream…

  1. patsieann
    January 19, 2015

    Well done on your 2-1 and a lovely blog. Have fun in 2015 xxx

  2. Paige phillips
    January 19, 2015

    Well I have to say kiddo this is definitely better than one of them left hand storys you used to write me 😉 keep it up chick!

    Love always

    Paige

Leave a Reply

